What is the College of Mediators?

The college of mediators is an independent regulatory membership body for all types of mediation including family, civil, disability, workplace and community just to name a few.

The college of mediators is also one of 5 national family mediation organisations in the UK, with the overriding body being the Family Mediation Council.

The aim of the college is to improve the provision of mediation and to increase mediation awareness nationally.


The UK College of family mediators was set up in 1996. It was an independent regulatory body for family mediation in the UK. It had aspirations for a long time to widen its scope in providing standards for all types of mediation. The creation of the Family Mediation Council in 2007 refocused the College in delivering on its ambitions to provide a home for all mediators. Now known as the College of Mediators it continues to further advance practice in all different fields of mediation.

Registered mediators and training

The College currently has over 300 registered mediators who practice across many different types of mediation. Before applications for membership to the College are accepted, mediators have to have completed College-approved mediation training.

Standards of mediation

As well as membership, the College also provides a set of standards and a code of practice across mediation for mediators to adopt. The College is a huge advocate of providing properly qualified ethical mediators.

Who manages the College of Mediators?

The College is maintained by:
Board of Directors,
Professional Standards Committee (PSC)
College’s Advisors.
All of the above have multiple backgrounds, including mediation, training, business, law, accountancy, equality and diversity.

The directors are responsible for ensuring that the College serves its members and day-to-day delivery. They are legally responsible for the College. They volunteer their time in the running and management of the College.

The college also has a professional standards committee (PSC) which actively develops and maintains mediation standards. The members of the PSC are long standing College members who have worked in the mediation field for many, many years.

To find out more information about mediation, please visit our mediation page. For more information about the College of Mediators, please visit their website.

We hope you have enjoyed this resource and that it has been beneficial to you. Just a gentle reminder that all of the content on this website including resources, blogs, articles and content on web pages, is prohibited from being used or copied in any public domain unless stated otherwise. Access Mediation Services is also not responsible for the accuracy of these resources nor responsible for how people use the information we provide in this information.

​Access Mediation Services

Central office number: 01905 330055
Book A Free Consultation

Do you have any questions about our services?

Access Mediation Services is assigned to the following membership bodies